Book by phone: (252) 435-3970

Lightly Salted

Guest Rating:

Vacation rental house. Sleeps 10, 5 bedrooms, 5.5 bathrooms. Dogs allowed.

1634 Sandfiddler Rd Corolla, NC 27927 United States

SATURDAY CHECK IN - 4 WHEEL DRIVE REQUIRED - LINENS AND TOWELS PROVIDED - Approximately 3 miles up the 4x4 beach

Welcome to 'Lightly Salted', one of Swan Beach's finest cottages perched against oceanfront dunes of the wild and beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. This home boasts unobstructed views of blue-green waves, bubbling white surf, and wide, sandy, wheat toned beaches as far as the eye can see. The enchantment begins as soon as your 4x4 vehicle leaves the pavement to drive right on the sand, only a few feet from the roar of the surf.

Panoramic views, state of the art electronics, exceptional quality bedding and Sleep Number® beds, delicious drinking water and a well-stocked kitchen are at your disposal. The state of the art electronics systems include a 55 inch Sony LED HDTV in the living room and 32 inch Samsung HDTV's in every bedroom, all connected to every channel offered by Directv, the 'Ultimate Package' and NFL package. Panasonic Surround Sound and accounts with Pandora and Netflix offer an unbeatable movie and music experience. The pool stereo system brings the tunes outside to the pool and picnic area with large hot tub and a gas grill. The ground floor half bath and mini fridge make poolside entertainment a breeze. Hop out of the pool and walk 50 feet across the dune to the ocean!

The extremely well equipped kitchen has all new major appliances, cookware, utensils and small appliances. Brew your morning coffee in the Keurig, Mr Coffee, or thermal coffee pot and enjoy it while watching the waves from the screened porch just off the kitchen.

Sleep Number® beds with dual comfort controls and 400 thread count linens are in 4 rooms: the third floor master king and queens for three more bedrooms. The kid's room with bunk set and pull out futon has an X-Box 360 Kinect with games provided. Fall asleep to your private music selection with the iPad, iPod, iPhone docking station stereos located in every bedroom.

Spend a luxurious week enjoying the beach, watching the wild horses graze and relaxing to the sound of the pounding surf from the well-appointed accommodations of 'Lightly Salted'.

INVENTORY for Lightly Salted:
• Brand new stainless steel major appliances in 2013
• Quick cool refrigerator
• New small appliances
• Top grain leather living room suite and tables
• New hardwood floors for the third level
• New carpeting for the second level
• Beds made
• New luxury bedding, pillows and bath towels
• 55" Sony LED HDTV in the living room with surround sound
• 32" Samsung HDTV's in every bedroom
• Ultimate DIRECTV Package including all premium movie channels and the NFL package
• Sleep Number® beds
• iPod docking station clock radio for all bedrooms
• X-Box 360 Kinect game system and games
• Gas fireplace (Oct through March)
• Hammock
• Pool side sound system with iPod docking station
• Turvis Tumbler insulated glassware
• Whole house water purification system including a reverse osmosis faucet
• Waffle iron
• Pack N Play
• Fully stocked kitchen
• Iron and ironing board
• Telephone
• Wireless internet service
• Central heat and air
• Dishwasher, microwave
• Washer/Dryer
• Outdoor Furniture
• Outdoor Shower
• Gas and Charcoal Grills
• Beach chairs

Click “Rates and Availability” for a quote.

Rooms and Amenities
Property Type House, 3 story, Built in 1999
Unit Code LS
Beds 1 king bed, 3 queen beds, 1 full bed, 1 bunk bed
Bathrooms 5.5 bathrooms
Rooms Sleeps 10, King master on level three. Two Queen masters on level two. One queen, one bunkset on level two that share a bath., 10 dining seats
Floor Area 2076 square feet
Pets Dogs allowed.
Standard Amenities baby crib, combination tub/shower, king, outdoor shower, queen, shower, sleep sofa /futon, toilet, tub, twin/ single, churches, cinemas, library, museums, playground, restaurants, Child's Highchair, Dining, Books, DVD Player, Games, Music Library, Satellite / Cable, Stereo, Television, Toys, Video Games, Video Library, Air Conditioning, Clothes Dryer, Fireplace, Heating, Internet, Iron & Board, Linens Provided, Living Room, Parking, Telephone, Towels Provided, Washing Machine, Coffee Maker, Dishes & Utensils, Dishwasher, Kitchen, Microwave, Oven, Refrigerator, Stove, Toaster, beachcombing, bird watching, paddle boating, photography, scenic drives, sight seeing, walking, whale watching, ATM/bank, groceries, Beach View, Beachfront, Ocean View, Oceanfront, Water View, Waterfront, Balcony, Deck / Patio, Outdoor Grill, Private Pool, bedroom, full, half, shower, cycling, deepsea fishing, fishing, freshwater fishing, hiking, hunting, hunting small game, jet skiing, sailing, snorkeling, sound/bay fishing, surf fishing, surfing, swimming, wind-surfing, children welcome, non smoking only, pets considered, wheelchair inaccessible, Minimum Age Limit for Renters
Average Manager Rating (Based on 117 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Services from rental manager
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 21 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Cleanliness

Location

Property condition
95 % of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Vacation Rental Reviews

  • Lovely Location

    Stayed 7 days ending in October, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Julie G from Richmond, VA recommends this vacation rental

    I visited Lighted Salted with my 85 year old Mom, and two other friends well into their 80’s. They loved the house, and being able to sit on the deck and watch the waves and read. I loved being able to bring my two dogs. The manager of the property was fabulous, making sure we had everything we needed. Sometimes you rent these places and can never track down the management company, but Laura answered texts asap...even when we asked her for directions. The owner needs to address the screen issue in the house. Many windows do not have screens so there was no cross-ventilation in most of the rooms. Many of the screens were torn so the house was full of flies. Others renters have noted this, so the owner really needs to get on it....

    • Manager Responded on 10/31/2017

      THANKS for your review. We will be sure to get those screens back in top shape! There are more bugs in the fall months so that was a double whammy for you! Hope you will come back and try again! The sights from that comfortable top deck at Lightly Salted are pretty awesome, so no need to even go to the beach. It is RIGHT THERE!

  •  
  • lightly salted

    Stayed 7 days ending in September, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    James F from Ocean, NJ recommends this vacation rental

    This house was amazing!!!!right on the beach!You really need a 4x4 vehicle to get there!

    • Manager Responded on 10/27/2017

      This house really is AMAZING! And the views are pretty spectacular too! Thanks for coming to visit and come back soon!

  •  
  • Amazing!

    Stayed 7 days ending in September, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Kristie G from Livingston, TN recommends this vacation rental

    Lightly Salted was amazing! The home was just as we expected. This home is set up to please ALL vacationers. All we needed was our personal items and food. Carova Cottage staff was wonderful! They answered any questions we had as we were watching Hurricane Irma before our arrival. Driving on the beach was truly an experience and so glad we chose the 4x4 area. We saw the horses just about every day. They even gave us a show in the back yard of the house and came up on the lower deck! Our stay was awesome! Thank you so much for sharing your home!

    • Manager Responded on 9/21/2017

      Kristie, We are so happy you found us! The horses are just the icing on the cake when staying at Lightly Salted! Come back soon!

  •  
  • Great Vacation Spot!

    Stayed 7 days ending in September, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Burlington, NJ recommends this vacation rental

    Loved Lightly Salted. Laura was great to work with. We can't wait to come back!

    • Manager Responded on 9/10/2017

      It IS a great house. :-) Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you next year.

  •  
  • Quite, Relaxing Ocean Vacation

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Jody S from Renfrew, PA recommends this vacation rental

    We had a wonderful stay very relaxing and a lot of fun. The house was great. The sand was challenging on the first day- recommend getting there early before check in time and staying on beach until can access house. Location was great with an awesome view of the beach. We also had the horses right on the side of the house one night. I would highly recommend this house and this vacation.

    • Manager Responded on 8/30/2017

      Lightly Salted has the BEST VIEWS! They are unobstructed and will stay that way since the lots in front are not build-able. So glad the horses came to visit. Come again soon!

  •  
  • Dorsey Fam Vacay

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Pittsburgh, PA does not recommend this vacation rental.

    Lightly Salted was very nice -- the kitchen table and counters could have been a little cleaner.
    It did not appear the pool or hot tub had been cleaned as there was ALOT of sand, bugs, etc in pool and a film on hot tub the whole week. Since there is so much sand on the 4x4, the pool should probably be cleaned midweek as well.

    Also, while we had a great week, would probably not stay on the 4x4 beach again - just too far from everything.

    • Manager Responded on 11/11/2017

      So glad you enjoyed your stay at Lightly Salted! It is only 3.5 miles to the hard road, but that drive can be about 15 minutes in the summertime. It feels longer though when you are hungry! Carova is nicely secluded, but seclusion means dealing with the natural environment; bugs and SAND. The pool operator cleans the pool and hot tub on the Saturday check in day. Levels are checked midweek and any adverse conditions are rectified. If the wind is blowing, you will have sand in the pool as soon the pool operator is finished. It doesn't affect the cleanliness of the water and is perfectly safe for your family. So sorry you have decided Carova is not for you. It isn't for everyone, but this home is one of the best on the beach. UNOBSTRUCTED views, excellent outdoor seating, luxury bedding, SLEEP NUMBER beds and easy access to Corolla.

  •  
  • Lightly Salted 2017

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Zarah A from Glenside, PA recommends this vacation rental

    We had a wonderful time. This was our first visit to the OBX. The location was perfect. We had an unobstructed view of the ocean. We enjoyed the wildlife of the horses and foxes. Driving on the beach was an adventure. It was also convenient for spending the day on the beach. With the car, we did not have to limit our beach items to those we could carry or drag behind us in a beach buggy. The pool was perfect. Heated by the sun, the children enjoyed it daily. The remote location forced us to relax! It was exactly what my family needed. We look forward to visiting again next year.

    • Manager Responded on 8/6/2017

      WOW! Thank you for painting that picture of complete relaxation. :-) We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Lightly Salted and would be VERY happy to have you return. Call us soon. This home is popular!

  •  
  • Great week. Can't wait to come back!

    Stayed 7 days ending in June, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Richmond, IN recommends this vacation rental

    Very nice house. Deck outside needed a little TLC but overall outstanding rental property. Views were amazing both sunrise and sunset. Only issue we had was the spa water needed changing but the staff came over within 15 minutes and changes it.

    • Manager Responded on 6/13/2017

      THANK you for the nice review. Lightly Salted has pretty spectacular views and is in a great location; steps from the beach but private enough to feel like you are the only ones around. Please come and stay again... we'll get that deck on the list for this winter.

  •  
  • First Family Vacation to the OBX

    Stayed 7 days ending in May, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Export, PA recommends this vacation rental

    Overall we had a great trip to the OBX, the houses location and views were great. The fully stocked kitchen made preparing meals a breeze. Our only complaint is that the exterior could use some love. The deck wood is weathered, there is a unusable set of table and chairs on the lower level and a pile of roofing nails in the sand outside of the pool. If those issues were addressed I would have given it 5 stars.

    • Manager Responded on 5/31/2017

      Thank you for your review Daniel. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. The exterior seating on the top deck is a nice place to catch those wonderful views you mentioned. So sorry the table and chairs on level one were a disappointment. We thought that table would be helpful to use while cooking your meal on the gas grill. I'll be sure to retrieve the roofing nails. (Busy spring for all of our contractors... I bet he's been looking for them!)

  •  
  • Relaxation at it's finest!

    Stayed 7 days ending in May, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Lorie M from Woodville, Ohio recommends this vacation rental

    If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing place this is it. Take your geoceries and you wont need to leave. We had horses at the house a couple of mornings, family of foxes next door, dolphins swimming by and even a couple of turtles. The house has all the appliances a d dishes you need, a very god selection of games and books,so, add in the pool and hot tub and there's not much more you need for your beach getaway. The 4x4 access was an added bonus to the experience. We would definitely recommend this home. Thank you Laura and Carova Cottages.

    • Manager Responded on 5/25/2017

      THANK you Lorie, What a great week you describe!! I hope you will come back and stay again. It was a pleasure having you.

  •  
  • Great get away!

    Stayed 7 days ending in May, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Linda N from Malvern, PA recommends this vacation rental

    Great get away in a really unique location. The house was spotless, comfortable and had lots of space. We loved driving on the beach and seeing the wild horses. Plenty of shopping and restaurants close by. We had a storm for 2 days and enjoyed staying in the house and watching from the big windows. We would definitely come back and bring our family with us next time!

    • Manager Responded on 5/17/2017

      THANK you Linda. We appreciate your nice review. It is awe inspiring to watch a storm roll in with the HUGE WAVES! :-) Please come and visit again.

  •  
  • April 22-APRIL29. 2017

    Stayed 7 days ending in April, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Milly K from Scranton, PA recommends this vacation rental

    Greatest house in 4wheel drive area.
    Heaven on earth!!!!!

    • Manager Responded on 5/18/2017

      Hi Milly, THANK you for your vote! We think it is heaven too! :-)

  •  
  • Wonderful Trip!

    Stayed 7 days ending in November, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from North Street, MI recommends this vacation rental

    We had a very nice week at Lightly Salted! The house was as expected, the updates to the living area are well appreciated. The kitchen is well-stocked, though a few new pans would be a good idea, the current ones have seen better days. There was a musty smell right when entering on ground floor (which consists only of a bathroom and entry area), but it did not permeate beyond that area (kind of wonder if past guests have cordoned wet dogs in there, that's what it smelled like), so no big deal to me. We had one small issue which was quickly remedied by Laura, who also provided us helpful answers to questions we had before arriving. We enjoyed trying out the sleep number beds, still discussing whether we want to go that way next time we replace ours.

    The only complaint we had (and this is in no way related to the house) was that a LOT of people bring their dogs to this area and seem to think just opening their doors at 7am and letting the dog run out to bark under other people's windows is a great idea. It was a really annoying issue coming from several surrounding houses. Otherwise though, it was a relatively peaceful location. The house is situated such that you have some privacy, and a great view! Not a day went by without a dolphin show right in front of the house. We were very excited to also see a whale one day. Horses visited the house one evening (that we saw), but we saw horses every day while driving around the area. I definitely recommend driving both the beach and the neighborhood roads, start with the fire station area if you're looking for the horses!

    We would rent Lightly Salted again if we returned to the area. Recommended Corolla restaurants: Pasquale's pizza, Mama Easley's (the burgers!), and Uncle Ike's!

  •  
  • Lightly salted

    Stayed 7 days ending in October, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Temple, PA recommends this vacation rental

    A beautiful home in a beautiful setting. The wild horses walked around the home several days in a row while we were there.

  •  
  • Lightly Salted Week of 9/24-10/1/16

    Stayed 7 days ending in October, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Michael B from Fairfield, PA recommends this vacation rental

    Overall was very happy with the house and location. The house had all amenities that were advertised. Enjoyed the wild horses that stopped the house most evenings to graze. First time staying in the 4 Wheel Drive area and enjoyed that very much also. We are looking at renting the property again in 2017, just need to work out a date with our kids.

  •  
  • Fantastic Family Get-A-Away

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Emily R from Annandale, VA recommends this vacation rental

    A lovely home with lots of space for a busy family. Direct access to the beach with peaceful views.

  •  
  • Lightly Salted, just what the doctor ordered

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Michael D from Ashburn, VA recommends this vacation rental

    Our first time staying on the 4wd beach and couldn't have been more pleased. The house was the perfect size for our crew--7 adults and a toddler. Beautiful views of the beach and short walk to it. Sleep number beds were a bonus, because that it what we are used to at home. Do recommend that you arrive before dark, because there are no street lights or street signs. Although in some areas it is showing its age (just like us) e.g. screened in porch allows some bugs in, nails popping up in deck boards, it worked for us.

  •  
  • Carova Beach, WOW!

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Nicole W from Poolesville, MD recommends this vacation rental

    We loved staying in the 4x4 area of OBX in Lightly Salted. The home was well appointed and was a perfect location in Carova, far enough to get past the daily beach goers who drive up for the day, but close enough for an easy 10 minute drive to amenities in Corolla. We saw the horses two days, had the OBX Boil company deliver an amazing dinner one night, and enjoyed the pool, beach, hot tub, and selection of board games. Futon in bunk room should not be considered a bed (huge hump in the middle when flat), and biting bugs outside the home were bad but have no other complaints. Amazing stay and would definitely stay here if returning to Carova beach.

  •  
  • Lightly Salted

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    P from New Market, MD recommends this vacation rental

    Carova beach is always enjoyable. our 3rd year in the row

  •  
  • Loved it!

    Stayed 7 days ending in June, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Roanoke, VA recommends this vacation rental

    Everything was great!

  •  
  • Great House!

    Stayed 7 days ending in May, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Mechanicsville, VA recommends this vacation rental

    Lightly Salted was a great vacation house! Kitchen well stocked, upgrades throughout, sleep number beds were not that pleasing but o.k. Even had pack -n-play & high chair which were nice to have there with a little one. Only 3.5 miles down the not that far! (Pay attention to high tide times)

  •  
Getting your rate Getting your rate...
1. Select Your Dates to Check Availability

Click calendar to set checkin/checkout dates. clear calendar

 Unavailable  Selected  Available  Checkin only  Checkout only
2. Review Dates and Rates

Select/Confirm the number of travelers to get a rate quote.

: :
Base Rent:
Fees & Taxes:*
Total Price:
:
:

*Click 'Continue Booking' to view details of fees & taxes

Seasonal Rental Rates for this Vacation Rental

Dates Daily Weekly Monthly Minimum Stay Checkin Restrictions
Nov 25, 2017-Dec 22, 2017 na $1,325 na 7 Sat checkin only
Dec 23, 2017-Mar 30, 2018 na $1,325-$1,770 na 7 Sat checkin only
Mar 31, 2018-Apr 6, 2018 na $1,795 na 7 Sat checkin only
Apr 7, 2018-Apr 13, 2018 na $1,648 na 7 Sat checkin only
Apr 14, 2018-Apr 20, 2018 na $1,770 na 7 Sat checkin only
Apr 21, 2018-Apr 27, 2018 na $1,770 na 7 Sat checkin only
Apr 28, 2018-May 4, 2018 na $1,770 na 7 Sat checkin only
May 5, 2018-May 11, 2018 na $1,770 na 7 Sat checkin only
May 12, 2018-May 18, 2018 na $2,395 na 7 Sat checkin only
May 19, 2018-May 25, 2018 na $2,795 na 7 Sat checkin only
May 26, 2018-Jun 1, 2018 na $3,720 na 7 Sat checkin only
Jun 2, 2018-Jun 8, 2018 na $4,595 na 7 Sat checkin only
Jun 9, 2018-Jun 15, 2018 na $4,955 na 7 Sat checkin only
Jun 16, 2018-Jun 22, 2018 na $5,468 na 7 Sat checkin only
Jun 23, 2018-Jun 29, 2018 na $5,295 na 7 Sat checkin only
Jun 30, 2018-Jul 6, 2018 na $5,868 na 7 Sat checkin only
Jul 7, 2018-Jul 13, 2018 na $5,868 na 7 Sat checkin only
Jul 14, 2018-Jul 20, 2018 na $5,868 na 7 Sat checkin only
Jul 21, 2018-Jul 27, 2018 na $5,868 na 7 Sat checkin only
Jul 28, 2018-Aug 3, 2018 na $5,868 na 7 Sat checkin only
Aug 4, 2018-Aug 10, 2018 na $5,868 na 7 Sat checkin only
Aug 11, 2018-Aug 17, 2018 na $5,340 na 7 Sat checkin only
Aug 18, 2018-Aug 24, 2018 na $5,190 na 7 Sat checkin only
Aug 25, 2018-Aug 31, 2018 na $3,650 na 7 Sat checkin only
Sep 1, 2018-Sep 7, 2018 na $2,495 na 7 Sat checkin only
Sep 8, 2018-Sep 14, 2018 na $2,395 na 7 Sat checkin only
Sep 15, 2018-Sep 21, 2018 na $1,895 na 7 Sat checkin only
Sep 22, 2018-Sep 28, 2018 na $1,845 na 7 Sat checkin only
Sep 29, 2018-Oct 5, 2018 na $1,510 na 7 Sat checkin only
Oct 6, 2018-Oct 12, 2018 na $1,510 na 7 Sat checkin only

*Seasonal rates are estimates only. Actual rates may differ. Seasonal rates do not include fees or taxes.

To request information about booking this vacation rental, please fill out the form below.


Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!
36.444415,-75.843225

Contact: 252-435-3970 Laura@CarovaCottages.com
NCREC License # 273502

Carova Cottages PO Box 353 Corolla, NC 27927 (252) 435-3970 laura@carovacottages.com,david@carovacottages.com

© 1999 - 2017 | Powered By Escapia Vacation Rental Software | Terms of Use

Logon